Tickets: Real Madrid vs. Athletic Bilbao - October 1, 2016

Available Ticket Categories

EventEvent DateCategoryPrice ($US)
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 1 PremiumN/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 1 SuperiorN/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 1N/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 2 GoldN/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 2 SuperiorN/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 2N/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 2 LongsideN/AN/A
Real Madrid vs. Athletic BilbaoSaturday, October 1, 2016Category 3N/AN/A

Seating Chart

Santiago Bernabéu Seating Chart

The Teams

Real Madrid

Head Coach: Zinedine Zidane

Real Madrid Club de Fútbol, also known as Real Madrid, Los Blancos, Los Merengues, is a professional association football club based in Madrid, Spain.

It is the most successful club in Spanish football in terms of international and overall trophies, and was voted by FIFA as the most successful football club of the 20th century, having won a record 31 La Liga titles, 18 Spanish "Copa del Rey" Cups, 8 Spanish Super Cups, 1 Copa Eva Duarte and 1 Copa de la Liga, a record 10 UEFA Champions Leagues, 2 UEFA Cups, 1 UEFA Super Cup, and 3 Intercontinental Cups.

Founded in 1902, Real Madrid has since spent all of its history in the top flight of Spanish football. In the 1940s, the club, the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium and the Ciudad Deportiva were rebuilt following the Spanish Civil War. The club established itself as a major force in both Spanish and European football during the 1950s. In the 1980s, the club had one of the best teams in Spain and Europe (known as La Quinta del Buitre), winning two UEFA Cups, five Spanish championships in a row, one Spanish cup and three Spanish Super Cups.

It has a long-standing and fierce rivalry with FC Barcelona, although Atlético Madrid is actually the closest professional football club. The El Clásico between Real Madrid and Barcelona has been played since 1929. The club is the world's richest football club (€438.6m) in terms of revenue and the second most valuable worth over €1.4mld in 2011.

Athletic Bilbao

Head Coach: Ernesto Valverde

Athletic Club, commonly known as Athletic Bilbao in English, is a football club from Bilbao in Biscay, Basque Country, Spain. The club has played in the Primera División of La Liga since its start in 1928. They have won La Liga on eight occasions. In the historical classification of La Liga Athletic Bilbao took 3rd place behind Real Madrid and Barcelona. The club also has a women's team, which has won 4 championships in the Spanish Superliga.

They are known as the Los Leones (the lions) because their stadium was built near a church called San Mamés (Saint Mammes). Mammes was an early Christian thrown to the lions by the Romans. The lions refused to eat Mames and he was later made a saint. The San Mames Stadium is hence nicknamed "the football cathedral".

The club is known for its cantera policy of bringing young Basque players through the ranks, as well as recruiting top Basque players from other clubs (like Joseba Etxeberria or Javi Martínez). Athletic only signs professional players native to one of the seven Basque provinces: Biscay, Guipúzcoa and Álava, Navarre; and Labourd, Soule and Lower Navarre in France, although in recent times some players born in Cantabria and La Rioja, close to the Basque Country have played for the team. This has gained Athletic both admirers and critics. The club has been praised for promoting home grown players and club loyalty. On the other hand, Athletic is one of only four professional clubs in Spain, with Real Madrid, Barcelona and Osasuna, which is not a sports corporation, so that ownership of the club lies in its partners.

The Stadium

Santiago Bernabéu

Capacity: 79,400

The Santiago Bernabéu is a football stadium in Madrid, Spain. It is the home of Real Madrid. Work on the grounds started on October 27, 1944. Originally called Estadio Chamartín after Madrid's previous stadium, it was inaugurated in December 1947. Real Madrid officially adopted the present name, Estadio Santiago Bernabéu, on January 4, 1955 in honor of the club president Santiago Bernabéu. The stadium has been officially sanctioned by UEFA as Elite or 5 Star on its 60th year of its existence.

The capacity has changed frequently, peaking at 120,000 after a 1953 expansion. Since then there have been a number of reductions due to modernisations (the last standing places went away in 1998/99 in response to UEFA regulations which forbids standing at matches in the UEFA competition), countered to some extent by expansions. The last change was an increase of about five thousand to a capacity of 79,400, effected in 2003. A plan to add a retractable roof has been announced.

The Bernabéu is one of the world's most famous and prestigious venues. It has hosted the European Cup final on three separate occasions (in 1957, 1969 and 1980), and is scheduled to host the 2010 final. The finals for the 1964 European Nations' Cup and the 1982 World Cup have also been held at the Bernabéu.